Hon’ble Administrator


    Shri. Praful Patel

    Hon'ble Administrator
    UT Administration of Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu

    Shri. Praful Patel

    Shri. Praful K Patel was born on 28 August 1957 at Unava, near Unjha in Mehsana District of Gujarat. He is a Diploma holder in Civil Engineering and began his career in the construction sector. His deep sensitivity towards social issues led him to the path of service which culminated him to take politics as a career. In 2007, he won the State Assembly elections from Himmatnagar constituency and served as Member of Legislative Assembly till 2012. In 2010 he was appointed as Minister of State for Home Affairs in the Narendra Modi Government and was further allotted the portfolios of Police Housing, Border Security, Civil Defense, Home Guards, Gram Rakshak Dal, Jail, Prohibition and Excise.

    On 29 August 2016, he took charge as the Administrator of Daman and Diu and on December 30th, 2016 he was appointed as the Administrator of Dadra and Nagar Haveli. As Administrator, he has instituted a sweeping transformation of the region’s physical infrastructure, paving the way for world-class projects while also showing sensitivity to people’s various needs, particularly those of the marginalized sections.

    Due to his continuous effort both the UT namely, Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu were merged as single UT Dadra & Nagar Havel and Daman and Diu on 26th January 2020.

    List of Former Administrator
    Name Duration
    Shri K. S. Baidwan, IAS 16/03/1992 – 28/03/1994
    Shri Ramesh Chandra,IAS 28/03/1994 – 15/07/1995
    Shri S. P. Aggrawal, IAS 15/07/1995 – 25/06/1998
    Shri Ramesh Negi, IAS 25/06/1998 – 23/02/1999
    Shri Sanat Kaul, IAS 23/02/1999 – 23/04/1999
    Shri Ramesh Negi, IAS 23/04/1999 – 19/07/1999
    Shri O. P. Kelkar, IAS 19/07/1999 – 12/11/2002
    Shri Arun Mathur, IAS 12/11/2002 – 16/11/2005
    Shri V. K. Singh, IAS 16/11/2005 – 26/05/2006
    Shri Dharmendra, IAS 26/05/2006 – 01/06/2006
    Shri R. K. Verma, IAS 01/06/2006 – 29/01/2008
    Shri Satya Gopal, IAS 29/01/2008 – 07/03/2011
    Shri Narendra Kumar, IAS 07/03/2011 – 28/08/2012
    Shri B. S. Bhalla, IAS 28/08/2012 – 17/08/2014
    Shri Ashish Kundra, IAS 18/08/2014 – 13/03/2016
    Shri Vikram Dev Dutt, IAS 14/03/2016 – 29/08/2016
    Shri Praful Patel 29/08/2016 –